I think I found a house to live in!

A few days back, I saw this ad on Craigslist:

One bedroom of three available in perfect Wallingford home. Current occupants are two mid 20’s female professionals: fun people who like to hang out, but are still independent. Large house and yard, one block from bus line (great for UW or downtown commute) in great neighborhood.

$525 Great Wallingford house with two fun girls!

Looking for another NON-smoker, 20-something female who is considerate, grounded and somewhat clean. No pets allowed.

Currently $525 on a month-to-month lease–must pay about $75 in utilities (depending on the month), includes wireless internet and cable. Looking for someone to move in around the end of April/beginning of May.

We’d love to hear from you =)

I responded with my standard email I send to all the potential places:

I am interested in coming and checking out your place.

About me: I’m 23, just graduated from UW with a business degree. I love being around people and just generally having a good time. Lately I have been trying to become a better chef and so far can cook a pretty mean pasta, a solid steak and good scallops.

I am a great roommate and have lived closely with others my whole life; 4 little brothers, roommates throughout college (and I’m actually still close friends with most of them). I am friendly, but will respect your space.

I am currently working as a business analyst at a downtown Seattle technology firm and also starting my own business on the side. I always am looking for new challenges, whether they be in the business world or for fun. I climbed Mt. Adams last summer and am thinking about climbing Mt. Ranier or something similar this summer. I love sports (especially football) as well as outdoor activities, such as hiking, canoeing, sailing, running and so on. Sometimes it is nice just to relax and watch a movie or read a book to though.

Hope to hear from you soon! Contact me back at XXXXX@gmail.com or call XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Joel

I didn’t really expect a response because she had specifically said that they were looking for a female. To my surprise, she emailed me back and asked me a few questions and I answered them and she responded by asking if I wanted to come check it out. So yesterday I got the address (in Wallingford, a few blocks east of I-5) and went over and looked at it.

The house is gorgeous and enormous. The room I would have is in the daylight basement and is much larger than my current room. I would also have a huge storage/living space throughout the rest of the lower floor. Upstairs, they have a nice living room fully furnished with pretty decent stuff. There is a nice backyard with a view for BBQs during the summer (they have a charcoal and gas grill). I have been hunting for an apartment for a while and I just fell in love with the place. I met one of the girls who would be my roommate and she was really nice and is a professional working at Boeing. She seems like a classy, fun All-American type of girl and I think it would be a really good situation. She told me about the other girl (works as a law clerk for a judge) and she sounded cool too.

However, this may be too good to be true: Melanie (the girl I met) said that they had specifically been looking for a girl, but thought I was a cool guy from my response and wanted to meet me. My guess is that there is tons of other girls who are very interested in moving in, so I’m at a disadvantage. I am supposed to go meet the second roommate on Sunday, so hopefully I’ll be able to make a good enough impression to overcome the fact that I’m a guy. I’ll be continuing to search for places to live until then, but I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

Published by

Joel Gross

Joel Gross is the CEO of Coalition Technologies.

One thought on “I think I found a house to live in!”

  1. Pingback: Psychology » Blog Archive » Gender differences in Humor 3

Comments are closed.